Posted by: buggy | 20 August, 2007

Housing Development Bug?

Amid the insane bustle of my current schedule, I had found a chance to make an application to take part in the ballot for the recent batch of 354 HDB flats in mature estates.

I had my eye on a nifty, quiet 5 room flat in Dover Cresent Blk 26.

So, I eagerly paid up $10 to submit my application to join the ballot. I figured, hey there are 354 flats right? If I get queue number 400 – 500, maybe I would still be in with a chance. That was sometime last week.

Lo and behold, I received an email from HDB today informing me of my allotted queue number:

===========================================

Application for Flat under August 2007 Bi-Monthly Sale of 4-rm and Bigger Flats.

Registration Number : XXXXXXXXX
Your queue number is 07084.
  
About 10,000 applicants have applied for the 354 flats offered for sale. Applicants with queue number 3001 and above will be informed of their selection appointment if there are flats still available before their turn is due.
  
Please do not reply to this e-mail. If you have any queries, please email us at hdbsales@hdb.gov.sg or call our Sales/Resale Customer Service Line at 1800-8663066 during office hours, Monday to Friday, 8.00am to 5.00pm.
  
Yours faithfully
LEE YAT THONG
HEAD, SALES OPERATIONS UNIT.

===========================================

Brilliant, just brilliant. Queue number 7084 out of 10,000.

I’d say a snowball has a greater chance of surviving the National Day Parade than I do of getting my desired flat.

For a moment, I did wonder if my number was the result of a Housing Development bug.

Responses

  1. Wow… the queue is certainly very long

  2. Yeah, I was quite surprised at the number of applications for 354 flats. I suppose the demand for flats direct from HDB has surged due to the red-hot property market these days.

  3. It has been a long wait. Welcome back. Buggs.

    Looks like it is not a very good time for buying a property, be it a private property or HDB one; be it from the open market or directly from the developer/HDB.

    The crucial question is this: Can you afford to wait till the market cools down? I am sure that it will happen, only nobody can tell for certain when. If you can, then wait a while. But it may be a long wait as well. 🙂

  4. Hi Victor, it’s good to be back! 🙂

    Definitely not a good time to buy any property except a flat direct from HDB I reckon.

    But nevertheless, I’m still going to get an agent to help me scout around for any available units in the Dover area.

    I’m not in any particular hurry to move, so I guess you could say I’m just fishing around for now.

  5. […] god knows how many attempts at the HDB ballot, each time with horrendous results, I have been blessed with a supreme stroke of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

